Okay it’s been a bit under a year since I was last here. I love the constancy of a true friend. That sounds sarcastic. But a true friend is waiting for you, even if you get distracted for a long time. That’s why I’m switching to all-digital friends. Apparently.

Anyway. This morning I’m going to sit down and just read on my iPad like it was the Sunday paper, about which one need feel no guilt. Because the Sunday paper is a sacred western rite, right? Right. And I made myself a spectacular coffee to go with it.

20120527-085846.jpg

Here’s how.

One spoonful of coconut oil in your large coffee mug warmed in the microwave. Add one spoonfull of cocoa powder. Whirl them together wildly with a mini stick blender (like from Ikea). Add a suitable amount of half-half (in my case this is about a third of a cup; my mug is large!) and warm that in the microwave too. Again with the wild whirling, only this time you don’t stop. During whirling, you slowly pour in the strong coffee that you already brewed even though I forgot to mention it in the recipe because you know well enough that a spectacular coffee is going to need to have some coffee in it, and you’ve got my back. When the coffee and whirling other stuff all come up to the top of the glass, stop pouring or it’ll be all over the counter. Drink. You might want to add a sweetener because unsweetened cocoa is pretty dangled bitter. Or you might want to drink it as-is, to serve as a complement to the sweetness of sitting down with an infinite read. Or drink half unsweetened and then say to hell with this lofty bs and stir in some agave, that’s also good.